Posted by: kellydh | July 5, 2007

Ode to a pump

My pump is driving me nuts.

Ask anyone who knows me, and they’ll tell you that I’m usually one of the pump’s biggest advocates.  But – maybe it’s not for everyone.  Actually, it’s not the pump itself that is the problem, but rather those infernal infusion sets.

One shot every few days instead of many per day…sounds tempting, eh?  Except if that first shot to insert the infernal infusion set doesn’t quite work.  I’ve tried all of the MiniMed sets, and none of them seem to want to be my friend.  Sof-set: your sticky tape is way more itchy than sticky.  Plus the inserter disturbingly reminds me of the harpoon used to slay Moby Dick.

Quick-set: why oh why won’t you actually insert?  I get prepped, I take a few deep breaths and I pushed those two little buttons on the serter…and….nothing.  Well, not nothing.  The needle will poke into the skin, look around, and promptly change it’s mind.  Of course, it doesn’t want to tell me of this decision until many hours later and my blood sugar has rocketed to, oh, say 434!

The pincushion that is my midsection has had it!!

So now I have returned to the land of Lantus, Novolog, and those delightfully small UltraFineIII pen needles.  Sigh.

I still plan on getting a new pump when the warranty’s up in a month.  What can I say, I still hold out hope.

Leave a Reply

Categories

